The Plentiful & The Needy.

The plentiful & the needy.

Today we were so blessed to get to go into Nairobi with a couple friends who were heading back to Texas late this afternoon. We went to the Giraffe Center & Kazuri Beads Factory, then had a wonderful lunch at Artcaffe`. It continually amazes me how there are two totally different worlds functioning so near to each other. You drive through Kijabe, a developing small town with many wazungu (white people) & a growing hope… then travel 20 minutes down the mountain and you arrive in complete desperation & hopelessness. My mind is perplexed.

How can two total opposites be in such close proximity of each other? Why is that okay? Why does that happen & why is that the norm? It bugs me. If there was one thing that is hard for me to wrap my mind around, it’d be that. God is sovereign & omniscient, I know that. But when we go visit people’s “homes” (mud huts, shacks) I just get sick to my stomach thinking about going back to my luxurious home. I don’t understand how it’s acceptable for me to go back to electricity, running water, full pantry, and a real bed… yet most people around me don’t know when their next meal is coming & sleep on a concrete or mud floor every night. Why? Why is it like that? I don’t wanna sound ungrateful, but it just drives me crazy. I know Africa wasn’t meant to look like America, but why do I get to have loving parents and 2.4 million children in Kenya don’t? Breaks my heart.

Last year when we came out here my mind was in shock pretty much the whole time. Two weeks was not enough time for my mind to process everything I was taking in. At Giraffe Center last year, we went during the rush hour on a Saturday and I didn’t really get to see the giraffes. But today I got to feed and pet two beautiful ones. Wow. I felt small. God’s creation amazes me. Watching them walk towards me out of the forest made me feel like I was in a movie. They are such incredible creatures. He is so good. I’m praying & talking with Him more than I ever have before. It blows my mind how even unbelievers around here are happy with so little. I’ve never gone a day that I can remember where I didn’t know Jesus and I still take way too much for granted. Praying that the Lord would saturate my heart in humility & gratefulness. I wanna ask you as a brother/sister in Christ, to talk to God about being a part of serving people who don’t only need to be served, but who also are uneducated about how to improve there life style.

“And I heard the voice of the Lord saying, “Whom shall I send, and who will go for us?” Then I said, “Here I am! Send me.” Isaiah 6:8

One thought on “The Plentiful & The Needy.

  1. Hannah, you write beautifully about a subject that has also captivated my heart. Here is the Psalm I am clinging to: The needy will not always be forgotten, nor the hope of the afflicted ever perish. Psalm 9:18. May we continue to pray for discernment and be obedient to God’s call on our lives, lives that are not really our own at all, but His.

    Two other verses that guide me: Anyone who knows the good he ought to do and doesn’t do it, sins. James 4:17
    Do not withhold good from those who deserve it when it is in your power to act. Proverbs 3:27

Leave a Reply

