The Desert and the Valley

I’m gonna be frank and just spit this out there – life has been dry. Very dry.

“As a deer pants for flowing streams, so pants my soul for you, O God. My soul thirsts for God, the living God. When shall I come and appear before God? My tears have been my food day and night, while they say to me all the day long, “Where is your God?”. These things I remember, as I pour out my soul: how I would go with the throng and lead them in procession to the house of God with glad shouts and songs of praise, a multitude keeping festival. Why are you cast down, O my soul, and why are you in turmoil within me? Hope in God; for I shall again praise Him, my salvation and my God.” Psalm 42:1-6a.

This passage in scripture has been a sweet reminder that despite me currently being in a weird, transitioning stage of life, my soul should be thirsting for God, whilst praising Him because He is my salvation and my Rock.

August 24, 2013 was one of the hardest days of my life; leaving Kenya, what I had known as home for the 5 previous months. Ask my family if you don’t believe me when I say I shed real tears on the ride to the airport, waiting to board, and departing.

The reason I was so upset was not simply just because I was leaving “home”, but also because I was going back to the burbs of DFW, to do nothing but wait and see what God had next for me.

If you know me, you know I don’t particularly like waiting for an answer, even just a mere idea of what’s going to happen would be satisfactory (one of my many faults) – but finding peace became quite difficult when it seemed as though everyone around me had plans set for at least the next 2 years, or more.

So yes, the past 10 months have been somewhat rough. BUT – He is faithful through it all.

“Those who sow in tears shall reap in joy.” Psalm 126:5

“The Lord is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer; the God of my strength, in Him I will trust, my shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold and my refuge, my Savior, You save me from violence.” 2 Samuel 22:2

I’m excited to share that I will be interning at The Village Church (my home church) in the Little Village ministry (infants-preschool) beginning mid August. It truly is a blessing and honor to get to serve alongside my brothers and sisters in such a special way. Yes, I am nervous, but also confident in knowing this journey is going to bring me closer to the Lord as I will be stretched in many different ways; ways I’ve probably never imagined.

I would deeply appreciate your prayers as I enter this new (crazy) season of life. Growing up is weird, and it always felt like it was never gonna happen to me – but here I am, about to be working two jobs as well as taking seminary classes. WHAT?! Well, as you can see, I’m insane & need all the prayer I can get 😉

But seriously, God is good. So good. And we need to be reminded of that daily, hourly, even by the minute – not only because we’re sinners constantly consumed with thoughts of ourselves, but because He is abundantly worthy of being spoken about unceasingly.

Oh that He would be at the forefront of our minds & hearts always.

Peace be with you.

Leave a Reply

