“As I Have Loved You, So You Must Love One Another”

Well, friends, in Argyle, TX there’s this ugly, white stuff falling from the sky, forcing me to lock myself in the house while trying to recover from seasonal allergies. Not exactly how I wanted to spend my day off. But with that said, I feel that circumstances have aligned to allow me the time to [finally] write on a subject that weighs heavy on me: praying for my enemies (global & local).

~

“But to you who are listening I say: Love your enemies, do good to those who hate you…” Luke 6:27

~

First question that comes to my mind when I read that verse is, “Am I listening?”. Is my ear inclined to listen close to the things He’s telling me, always? When it comes to things that enhance my life & circumstances, you betcha. But the difficult things? The awkward, “I don’t think that’s really what You want me to do, Lord” things? Well, I surely don’t jump at those as enthusiastically or often as I ought.

Something God’s been pressing on me lately, with ISIS, other terrorist attacks, & sex trafficking filling all my social media news feeds, is the message in John 13:34: love as He loves, because He loves me. I’m also convicted by remembering that He came to save sinners. Sinners: me, you, everybody. I am not anymore worthy of His redemption & grace than a murderer from Baghdad. The prosperity-minded, American church would disagree, but that’s simply just the truth.

Praying for & loving our enemies well is one of those slightly awkward things God commands us to do. It’s a strange pill to swallow. Especially with the self-entitled, justice-craving, mindsets we’re raised being taught to have, it’s hard to imagine that having compassion for those who treat others so wrongly is right; but isn’t that exactly what Jesus did for us?

We put Him on that cross, we gave Him those 39 lashes, we mocked and called Him a liar & a phony; He was willing to be flogged to cover our iniquities – what kind of Love is this? Unconditional. Be encouraged in that! We are to treat others as we want to be treated. {Treat Christ with hatred, but then be given the option of forgiveness after repentance? Yes, please! I want that mercy! What other human being wouldn’t?}

His love should compel us to love; the instruction given to us is not to flippantly, uncaringly, throw a bible down one’s throat, but to love, pray & care for others genuinely — in the Middle East, Africa or Flower Mound.

~

And I don’t think it’s any coincidence that I’m writing about loving your enemies while locked in my house due to my biggest enemy: snow. I’m pretty sure Hell is frozen, and Heaven is a beach. But I guess we’ll just see.

~

Whoever you are, reading this, I am praying for you. For your heart to be softened & transformed by the magnificent work done by Christ & His love. I pray that you know Him deeply & are comforted that He knows you even deeper.

God bless you,

~Han

Leave a Reply

