Sacred & Secular

A topic discussed last week in my Old Testament class was the separation between sacred & secular, or rather the argument of if there is even a separation at all.

I personally believe there is no such separation.

“And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose.” Romans 8:28

If everything is being worked together for good, and He is the only truly good thing that exists, how could everything, even seemingly mundane life, not be controlled or organized by Him?

The whole idea of “everyday life” in the suburbs extremely bothers me because it gives the impression that there are days where nothing special happens and all is ordinary. If God is the extraordinary Author of our lives, how can there be any ordinary days?  Sure, we have uneventful times, but is His Spirit not alive & transforming even then? It is — oh, it is indeed!

I often find that I slip into tunnel vision when I become consumed by my rigorous schedule, and joy is lost. I forget to pray. I forget that He is omnipotent. I forget that He is always in charge. I forget that the world isn’t on my time. I forget, also, that I’m forgetful.

I’m begging God to revive this city, this country! It is important for us to get EXCITED about the coming of His kingdom (Matt. 6:10) and the Holy Spirit dwelling in & transforming our hearts (Matt. 6:11).

Will you plead with me for new, true life in this place? That dead bones would be made alive? For grace towards others; an ocean of forgiveness?

Exodus 14:13-14
“And Moses said to the people, ‘Do not be afraid. Stand still, and see the salvation of the LORD, which He will accomplish for you today. For the Egyptians whom you see today, you shall see again no more forever. The LORD will fight for you, and you shall hold your peace.’”

2 Timothy 1:7
“For God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind.”

Brothers and sisters, it’s time to do some work: Kingdom-minded work. Let’s labor together!

God bless you,

Han

Leave a Reply

