Excitement & Anticipation

WHAT’S BEEN HAPPENIN’:

What a year. On July 27th my internship came to an end at the Village, and to say I’ve learned a lot in the last 12 months would be a huge understatement. I went in to this job thinking I belonged in full time vocational ministry, and came out thinking the opposite.

I know I’m young and still have a long way to go, but He has shown me more about how He’s ornately designed & crafted my mind & heart. It’s weird to think that there is Someone who knows more about me than me, but His gentleness in pulling back the veil of my ignorance has revealed to me more about how deep His patience, grace and long-suffering is.

My goodness, He’s good.

“There is none holy like the LORD: for there is none besides you; there is no rock like our God….The bows of the mighty are broken, but the feeble bind on strength.” 1 Samuel 2:2,4

The job I had in 2014-2015 was anything but easy for me; clerical work is not my strong suit. Feeling like I hadn’t finished tasks the way I should’ve, or like my best wasn’t good enough, was not the funnest. But regardless of how I did or didn’t feel, God is in charge and I’m simply a vessel for Him. *easier said than done*

However, in light of that, I know He wanted me here this year for a reason. But just because I believe that truth doesn’t mean I know the full details behind the “why” of it; that part remains unclear. But because He is sovereign, because He doesn’t waste time, because He loves me, I know there is purpose and intentionality in every single thing that happens.

I am mostly grateful for my parents for constantly reminding me that obeying authority is good and right and of the Lord. I am thankful that in all their years of parenting me, they never gave up. What a providence of the Lord to have parents that endure! The things I have learned about God, myself and others this year has been priceless. I couldn’t have imagined the ways that God would choose to grow and stretch my mind and heart. And had I known beforehand the adventures He’d take me on, I don’t know that I would’ve done it. I keep learning that He only shares certain things with His children at certain times; it’s simply more evidence of His wisdom being greater than mine.

With much excitement and joy, I am so glad to share with you that I am heading to Berlin, Germany on August 13th(TOMORROW!) to spend 2 months with the Campbell’s (with YWAM). This family loves the Lord and others so well, and I can’t wait to learn from them on how to serve others as Christ did. Once mid-October rolls around, I’ll head over to Wiesbaden to spend my last 30 days in Europe with my aunt & uncle. I am SO ready for this sweet time with family and friends.

WHAT’S NEXT?

The question of the century! American culture insists that you always have to have the next step planned out and fool proof. But if you know me at all, you know I hate having a schedule & would preferably not live the same day twice (I have quite the heart for adventure).

God has, as I learned this past year, crafted me with a passion and love for many things; something that makes it hard living in a closed-minded culture. Sadly, I still struggle with believing the lies of the world that tell me I have to chose one thing and one thing only to do for the rest of my life…my biggest fear.

I love change. I love people that are different from me. I love acclimating to unknown cultures and learning new languages. Belonging to a God so diverse, loving and life-giving makes it hard for me to believe that He would bind me from doing the thing I truly love: trying new things.

So, to conclude, I don’t know for certain what’s next, but that makes me excited!  

YOUR PART IN THIS:

Pray. Pray, pray, pray. I wouldn’t be here today without the love and support of the friends and family God has provided along the way, and I will need that to continue as I go to new places and try new things!

“I appeal to you, brothers, by our Lord Jesus Christ and by the love of the Spirit, to strive together with me in your prayers to God on my behalf” Romans 15:30

Do I feel uneasy at times about not having much direction? Absolutely. But I pray these upcoming adventures sprout a new contentment and trust in the Lord like never before!

Auf Wiedersehen, freunden!

Leave a Reply

