Sluggard Soul

Bowing+Head.jpg?format=1500w

Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, and before you were born I consecrated you; I appointed you a prophet to the nations.” 

Then I said, “Ah, Lord GOD! Behold, I do not know how to speak, for I am only a youth.” But the LORD said to me,

“Do not say, ‘I am only a youth’: for to all whom I send you, you shall go, and whatever I command you, you shall speak.

Do not be afraid of them, for I am with you to deliver you, 

declares the LORD.”

Then the LORD put out his hand and touched my mouth. And the LORD said to me,

“Behold, I have put my words in your mouth. See, I have set you this day over nations and over kingdoms, to pluck up and to break down, to destroy and to overthrow, to build and to plant.”

Jeremiah 1:5-10


I have neglected the story of my brother, Jeremiah, all too much, therefore I am left ignorant of the example he set to follow as a child of God.

I am young, and many of life’s twists and turns have proven that to me over and over again. It doesn’t matter how many bible studies I’ve done, how many badges were pinned on my ‘Quest vest’ as a preschooler for memorizing scripture, the years I have been a professing believer – I, all too often, shy away from ministry opportunities because of my age.

I think it’s because instances like that reveal to me that wisdom does some times come with age, and I allow intimidation to set in.

“You know your stuff, sweetie”, says my mom.

“But what if I don’t give the answer they’re wanting to hear?” I ask.

“Well, whose words are you speaking? Who should you be pleasing with your words?”

Ah, that’s what moms are for.

When trying to convey the power of the message of Jesus relies on mere human strength, what good could come of it? Well, not really any.

In the Old Testament, time after time, it is stated that the ‘LORD is with you wherever you go’ and, in the New, we have the ‘Spirit of God that dwells in us’.

He does not forsake us, not ever. 

God never commands His children to do His work without Him present; not by preference, but reality. We cannot do what He commands without Him; what a profoundly freeing truth.

He is with us not only as a presence, but a Deliverer.

We all have hang ups, don’t hide em. Let them be exposed by the light of His love to deliver you out of them. Fear, hate, weariness – He can rid you of those things that weigh down your soul. Better yet, He wants to.

When Jesus taught us to pray for things to be “on Earth as they are in Heaven”, He wasn’t talking about asking for gold streets and pearl gates. He goes much deeper than that.

In glory, no one will be troubled by fear, hate, or weariness – that is what we are to pray for! Things that you won’t struggle with in Heaven can go away now – really, they can! God is the Father of good gifts (Matt. 7:11). Last time I checked, sin isn’t a good gift.

I’m not saying that we aren’t guaranteed trials and tribulations; we most certainly are. BUT when something leads to less of God and more of self, it cannot be from God. 

“The soul of the sluggard craves and gets nothing, while the soul of the diligent is richly supplied.” Proverbs 13:4

“In all toil there is profit…” Proverbs 14:23a

When the LORD’s hand is on you, nothing can go wrong – not because circumstances fit human ideals, but because mistakes are impossible for Him.

He is abundant and full; don’t settle for a lesser god.

Satan is constantly lying and speaking false, depressing things into our minds; my prayer is that you (& I) are drawn to ignore that of which is not of God.

To me, the last verse in the passage above glares the word obedience.

Thankfully I have parents who give what I would consider to be the best example of earthly, God-fearing parents. Ever. They are not perfect, but I cannot remember a time when I felt unloved or hated by them in their parenting of me.

Obedience is habitual. My dad still (yes, even as a young adult) reminds me that the more I practice obeying him, the more naturally it will come every time an authority is placed over me, the most important one being God.

The goal as God’s children is not to cowardly grumble into submission under His plan, but gladly lay our thoughts aside and simply say, “Yes.”

Whether to pluck up or break down, destroy or overthrow, build or plant, God’s children should always answer with a resounding “Amen!” or “Yes!” to whatever and all He commands.

Categories Theology + Stuff

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close