The Author I’m Not

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

Only 5 sleeps left in Berlin;  I can hardly believe it.

If I were to explain in full, using mere words, how majestically God has shown Himself to me over these last two months, this post would go on for an eternity. So I’ll try to make it brief.


I continue to learn that, when I don’t rely on my agenda, life is sweet. God keeps reminding me Who is in control; Who’s actually writing this story.

My imagination cannot even go as far as His already established plans do.

God often speaks to me in visions and dreams, and the most recent picture He’s given is one of a wrapped present, filled with exciting items I daily get to pull out.

I now look back and see that me buying a plane ticket and having a place to call home here was only the bow tied around the boxed-gift.

Life as a child of God is the gift that keeps on giving. Not necessarily giving of nice cars, toys or materials, but LIFE!

I am the vine; you are the branches. Whoever abides in me and I in him, he it is that bears much fruit, for apart from me you can do nothing.

John 15:5 

IMG_1423

Life is, regardless of what the enemy or you may tell yourself, better when God is fully in control.

You cannot think up options, ideas or experiences that could supersede His.

For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts. 

Isaiah 55:9

I promise (& don’t use that term lightly) that, when God is guiding your every step, you will have fullness of life. Not simply living to the “fullest”, because God doesn’t have limits on how full life can be. Life in Him is full because He is an abundant stream of life.

Surrender yourself unto Him; I guarantee you won’t be disappointed.


[Friend: this adventure has brought a whole new meaning to the word.]

Let me introduce you to a few of the sweet souls I’ve had the privilege of getting to know on my journey in Berlin:

Meet Andrea (Andie):

Processed with VSCOcam with b1 preset
Native Canadian, spent years in the great U.S., and most recently is here from Sydney. We met through mutual friends who said we had much in common; turns out, we have more in common than we can sometimes handle! A love for Jesus and coffee makes for a fast friendship and good conversation. Please pray that she would have successful ministry while living in Berlin — that she would see God work mightily in the people He surrounds her with!
Hannah:

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset
Half Norwegian, half German; this sister is beyond special. She and her sister just moved to Berlin from Norway, and in the mere two weeks that I’ve known her, I’ve learned so much from her example. No matter where we are or what we’re doing, she always has her eyes peeled for people to pray for and talk with. She boldly walks out the love of God so that people might come to know that love, and I’m ever grateful that I got to see that truly lived out. Please pray that she will continue to see God miraculously save and heal the people of Berlin!
Linn:

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset
Sister to Hannah, and a friend to all, this girl shines the light of Christ SO brightly! She cares deeply about the truth of  salvation, and wants each person to know how loved and cared for they are by the Holy God of the Universe. She fearlessly proclaims the love of Jesus Christ, and I richly admire her for that! Please pray that she will continue to seek God’s wisdom and accept His grace as she steps out in faith each day!
Meet Emma, Jacob and Ben:

IMG_1416 IMG_1351

These kids bring an abundance of laughter, life and love to everyone around them! I’ve been so privileged to live under the same roof as them, which has only provided endless memories and fun times to one day look back on.

Emma: fun-loving, caring, full of life. Brave is the word that comes to mind when I think of her. Sweet in her approach, she manages to make known the power of Christ and greatness of life in Him. I love that I, a 20 year old, can glean wisdom from her, a 12 year old.

IMG_1512

Jacob: story-teller, sweet-heart, thoughtful. This young man loves Jesus so much, and it’s beyond evident in the way he lives. Always thinking of others, making everyone feel included and important. I am so anxious to see how the Lord changes the world through this little man. Big things will happen, no doubt!

IMG_1381

Ben: adorable, comedic, inventive. Always looking for ways to have fun, Ben keeps life exciting and me on my toes! When around him, I guarantee you will have several belly laughs for things you never could’ve thought up. His life-story so far has been nothing short of amazing, and I believe the rest of his days will not be less than that!

IMG_1407

Keri:

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset
Mother to the three above, and as good as they come. It’s funny because we’ve been at the same church for the same amount of time, but never connected until a little over a year ago through social media. I had only heard from [many] others how sweet of a gift her life is, and man, were they right! Her ability to unceasingly lavish encouragement onto anyone and everyone is deeply comforting. I am blown away by the things I’ve learned from her and friend I’ve found in her.
Crista:

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset
The world, I keep finding, is ridiculously small. This new friend, who is friends with lots of my friends in TX, has a heart of gold. Her intentionality in making everyone feel loved, important and welcome into her life is only one of the amazing qualities God has placed in her. Connecting is her thing, and I’ve been so blessed by that gift in her!
Heather:

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset
Another fellow Texan whom I’ve met in Berlin is Heather Hinton – a truly fun, free-spirited, beautiful friend! She and her family are close friends of the Campbell’s, and they both moved to Berlin around the same time. Having another person much like you in an unknown place is always a comfort. God is so good to faithfully provide the things I need!

IMG_4452

Long story short, I’ve met some really awesome people and learned some really awesome things here.

I came to Berlin with only one rather ambiguous expectation: Learn more about God. And He substantially delivered.

I’m so glad to know the Author of my life isn’t me; my imagination is beyond boring compared to His works.

Prayer has also been a huge part of my time here. Reading scripture while praying, I’ve found, is really important. Being able to read the promises of my faithful God, while knowing He is attentive to my pleas & cries, is ever comforting.

My hope is that, by reading only snippets of my explorations, you would be enlightened to step out in faith, and simply say, “YES!” to any crazy adventure that should come your way. I’m praying for more of that in my life, and for yours!

Gott segne!

Leave a Reply

