A Loving Law

images

Blessed are those whose way is blameless, who walk in the law of the LORD! Blessed are those who keep His testimonies, who seek Him with their whole heart, who also do no wrong, but walk in His ways!

Psalm 119:1-3


Being a young adult not presently living under my parent’s roof has brought a profound new view of God as my Father into my life.

I was raised by two loving parents who taught me that when I, in glad submission, obey, joy follows; life flows. Naturally, that is exactly the result I found when I simply said, “Yes [ma’am/sir].”

It’s strange. Growing up, I dreamed of the day that I would get to make my own decisions and not have my parents always giving the commands. I wasn’t a rebellious child-no, quite the opposite. Nonetheless, the desire to be independent in my heart was great.

Now, as a 20 year old, single girl living in Europe with God as my only present authority, independence has suddenly lost its glamour.

Oddly enough, keeping His statutes and abiding by His law has never appeared sweeter.

Opportunities to do the work of God are often quite available; He doesn’t give useless gifts. Still I wonder, “Really, Lord, do I have to go talk to this stranger?”…”I really don’t wanna embarrass myself…You understand, right?” But alas, He reminds me of the banner I now live under: Love God and His law. (Psalm 119:165 English Standard Version)

My parents always taught me, through simple tasks, that submitting myself to their leadership was a model and practice for submitting myself unto the LORD. (How thankful I am for their perseverance and consistency!)

If you didn’t grow up in a God-fearing or loving home, I deeply encourage you to find a family whose home-life is modeled after the love of Christ.

Any time you think your way will lead to more life than His, think again. (I say that from firsthand experience)

Asking to gain a thirst for scripture may be handled differently than you first imagine. You may be lead to the other side of the world, or put in really uncomfortable positions, but regardless of circumstances, His path leads to life perfectness. Not because it lines up with what you had in mind for your future, but because He is perfect.

God has boundaries, yes. However, His boundaries were not given to keep us from fullness, but to pour that fullness out.

 …but his delight is in the law of the LORD, and on his law he meditates day and night.

Psalm 1:2

Leave a Reply

