Small Beginnings

And though your beginning was small, your latter days will be very great.

                                                  Job 8:7


Entering young adulthood away from home has given me ample time and instances to reflect upon my upbringing and what’s molded me into whom I’ve become.

This may come as a shock to you, but I didn’t grow up seeking adventure or exploration. I have, however, always confidently believed that God is with me wherever I go because I am a child of His.

As a youngin’, I wondered what God would do with me in my adult life. I figured I would stay in the performing arts/ballet world, go to college, and do what everyone else did. Never did I imagine myself graduating early from high school, living in Africa for several months, and continuing to not do anything traditional or conventional.

I never envisioned my life unfolding in such exciting patterns, but thank goodness for God’s thoughts being higher and bigger than mine could ever desire to be!

After being in Europe these past three months, I keep learning that no matter where I am or how old I get, there will always be new things to learn. I’ve also gained a new love and respect for my homeland. The U.S. is a messed up place full of messed up people, sure (isn’t everywhere?). BUT the freedom, the liberty, and the care I grew up under is unlike what any other country on the planet has to offer, and I gotta say, I’m proud to be an American (well, Texan really).

God keeps revealing more to me about who HE has made me to be, and I’m loving it—a lot. I count it joy getting to see life through the lenses of His infinite glory and love for His creation, instead of my fogged, distorted view of the world. I am grateful to boldly believe and proclaim, “I am HIS, and HE is mine!”

The past two years have been filled with unexpected (and some unwanted) circumstances. I often think to myself, “What are you doing?” Or, “Why not make a ‘five year plan’ rather than troubleshooting dreams that eventually fall apart?” Still, He is teaching me that right now that’s not what He has for me.

God is always doing 10,000 things in your life, and you may be aware of three of them.

                                          – John Piper

I am awaiting approval for an Australian visa because I got accepted into a YWAM DTS (Youth With A Mission, Discipleship Training School), woohoo! I have always dreamed about living in Australia and working in a coffee roastery on the coast, but we’ll see what happens! While these are the things I presently am thinking and dreaming about, I am sure God has other things in the pipeline that will soon be unpacked. I’m just glad to be along for the ride!

You may wonder if I have any plans? Goals? Hopes? Aspirations? Yes, I suppose. But if they become an obstacle, preventing God’s word from reaching others, then I want to be rid of them (James 4:17).

Would totally appreciate your prayers that I would stay near His side and in tune with His Spirit.

Gott Segne!

Categories European Exploration

1 thought on “Small Beginnings

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close