Ride the Waves

 

12573763_10208407003310861_1290517939103387234_n

Well y’all, I’ve been in my beautiful, new home (for now) for almost a month (WHAT). People aren’t kidding when they say living here is a dream; I can testify to the truthfulness of that statement.

Not sure where to start, but I’ll begin with this: God is good, and I’m in awe.

The picture above is only one of the many beachfronts located roughly 15 minutes from my home, if that tells you anything.


We began our first week of lectures two Mondays ago with the topic of ‘Hearing God’s Voice’, and this week we’re studying/reviewing the Bible as a whole. No joke-this journey has already been the adventure of a lifetime, and it’s only week three!

God has been abundantly gracious and overwhelmingly near lately, so thank you to those who have been praying for me in that way! I have felt your prayers and am grateful for your intercession. Our God is so attentive!


IMG_3917

This is the beach front at Mooloolaba (no, I didn’t make up that name). This location is a beautiful one, including a super awesome shopping strip behind it with several coffee shops and eateries. See why I don’t ever wanna leave?

 


NOOSA/HELL’S GATES

IMG_3938

This is Elise; she’s from Cali and is one of the neatest people I’ve ever met. This girl’s super chill and loves Jesus a whole lot. Also extremely photogenic, as you can tell. Captured this shot right before the entire DTS team ventured on a hike up the mountains in Noosa to Hell’s Gates-and yeah, it was rad!

IMG_3951.JPG

(View of the beach front on our walk up Noosa)

IMG_3955

After 45 minutes, we made it to Hell’s Gates! I felt like I was in a painting or a movie or something magical like that.

IMG_3957

IMG_3956

Yes–this was definitely one of those times I felt so minuscule and honored to be intimately known by a God who could create such a place as this.

IMG_3973.JPG

IMG_3963.JPG

Haha, disregard my child-like-cheese-face. But this is Austin! He’s from the desert of the states, also known as Arizona. Such a solid & gifted brother in Christ. It may not seem so, but he was totally photo-bombing in this pic.

IMG_3983

This chick right here’s Alia! We both feel as though we’ve met somewhere in the states before, but can’t shake out the exact details, so we carry on. She comes all the way from the Windy City and same time zone as myself, so that’s pretty cool. This sister has a heart for the Lord and His people and I’m honored to have such a friend!

IMG_4007.JPG

After our rigorous hike (exaggeration), we hoisted the volley ball net and chilled on the beach. I love these people that the LORD chose for me to do life with during these precious six months; I surely couldn’t have done a better job myself!

IMG_4017


 

FRIENDS LIKE FAMILY

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

I LOVE THESE GIRLS. Good gracious. There are several more from my house who aren’t pictured here, but each of them have a heart of gold, and I’m blessed to do life with them.

(‘Bout to get preachy, but bare with me) Whenever you’re unsure if God knows what He’s doing, trust me, He does. He is all-knowing, all-present, and all-sufficient – how could He not know?!


 

NITTY GRITTY

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

Oh man, these people. This is the infamous YWAM grocery shopping crew! We trek to Woolworth’s or Coles 2-3 times a week to collect food for each of the student houses, and it is a BLAST. I ain’t pullin’ your leg–we know how to have serious fun. (L to R) Ash-Norway, Daniel-Germany, Anders-Norway, and Jordan-Whales. In-between trips to different stores, Ash will say different Norwegian phrases while Jordan tries to repeat them back to her, and I pretty much laugh for 3 hours straight. It’s THE funniest thing!

IMG_8323

It is illegal, in Australia, to hang your hand out the window of a car (something this Texan finds hard to understand). But no one has said anything about sticking your head out of one….so, naturally, when sitting at a red light, you snap a pic of such riskiness.


 

HIKE UP MT. COOLUM

IMG_8354

If you know me at all, you know my deep love for early-rising, especially when you’re about to hike up a mountain! God was definitely showing off His glorious, artistic side that fine morning, too.

IMG_4026

The image of the skies changed several times during our hike, and I loved it.

IMG_8341

Psalm 19:1, “The heavens declare the glory of God, and the sky above proclaims His handiwork.”

IMG_4045

Once we all made it back down Coolum, we ventured over to Compound Surf & Espresso to reward ourselves and enjoy some treats! This place was so incredible, and my tastebuds were so pleased.

IMG_4054

Yup, Alia again, showing off Compound’s incredibly tasty cold brew in a sleek flask. The atmosphere was so chill and inviting. I could’ve hung out there for hours!


 

RE-CAP/PRAYER REQUESTS

Over all, I am blown away by the goodness of my Father. The people and places He’s bringing me to are unbelievable, and I could not have imagined a more awesome life for myself. I’m so glad He is in control of my days!

PRAYER POINTS:

  • Health: It’s pretty much gone, but I’ve been tryin’ to get rid of my nasty, annual climate-change-cold for about a week now and would love for it to be completely gone. Would appreciate prayers for continued health throughout the rest of lecture phase, and especially on outreach!
  • Continued joy: I have only felt this close to the Lord a few times in my life, and I don’t want this to go away! Please pray for a constant hunger for nearness to Him and reading of His scriptures.
  • Servant-heartedness: I live in a house of 14 girls around my age! Community living is definitely a fun adventure, but also requires a dying to self like no other. I want to become more and more like Christ in the way He is humble; and to have genuine love for others that leads to deep self-sacrifice.

 

THANK YOU FOR PRAYING AND KEEPING UP WITH WHAT GOD IS DOING AMONGST THE NATIONS. HE IS BIG AND MIGHTY, AND MORE THAN WORTHY OF OUR PRAISE AND ADORATION. PRESS ON, BROTHERS AND SISTERS! GOD BLESS Y’ALL.

 

 

Leave a Reply

