Unending Revelations

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

but his delight is in the law of the LORD, and on his law he meditates day and night.”

Psalm 1:2


Constant have the scriptures been throughout my life, and reading of the word a common hobby. Naturally there have been dry seasons where digging through the Levitical Law doesn’t seem so ‘fun’, but I know Who the word is about and what it’s for.

Having read through the bible several times in my life, verses like Jeremiah 29:11 and passages such as 1 Corinthians 13 easily can become redundant, but, thankfully, the depths of His vastness never shallow.

In week two of lectures we were taught on the ‘Living Word’, aka the Bible. In all seriousness, I don’t get tired of reading scripture over and over. Fortunately, I was blessed to grow up in a church that deeply valued the reading and meditation of God’s word, which only sparked and has continued to flame a massive fire of appreciation and love for the scriptures in my life. However, I am very human, so I often forget stories, and, especially, the details within them. So an in-depth review of the message never hurts, and seldom fails to humble my heart.

Once a week, in our work-books, we do a ‘Psalms Project’. Basically, the charge is to find a Psalm that reflects how God has acted toward you in your life, and pull out which characteristic of His is recognized in the chapter. Then we are encouraged to get all creative and nerdy (my fav) and write our own Psalm, describing an experience with Him in a time of our lives. I’m grateful for an assignment like this that urges me to devote attention, energy, and thought-provoking time on the very Thing that gives me breath.

To be frank, I never considered much of what wisdom I would glean during the lecture phase of my DTS; dreams of outreach in Papua New Guinea swam round and round my little head. Yet, even so, God has proved to always have more in store by peeling back layers and steering my heart to places farther than my caged imagination could dream to wander. And thank goodness He is not encased by my thoughts and ideas for my future.

Being reminded by every teacher, leader, and friend that I, even at age 90, can still receive new revelations from the LORD is an infinitely sweet thing. Memorising Romans 6:23 by a simple melody at a young 3 years old did not only place a spiritual magnet, if you will, on my heart, but also provided a myriad of opportunities to find gratitude and under-lying nuggets of gold in following years.

I guess what I’m trying to get at here is that you really can’t get bored knowing God. I mean, really…He is omniscient (all-knowing), omnipotent (all-powerful), and omnipresent (all-present). How could Someone that knew every detail, had total sovereignty over them, and wasn’t limited to an amount of locations ever become humdrum?

So press in. Ask crazy questions. They don’t scare Him, I can assure you! John 1:3 tells us that, “All things were made through him, and without him was not any thing made that was made”, meaning that He knows every detail about anything that has ever existed…why would we not ask Him things that are on our minds? I mean, in actuality, He already knows all that is in our hearts and minds. So, for your sake and sanity, again, press in. Do it. You won’t regret it.

I serve a God whose ideas or revelations or words don’t expire. He is an unending flow of wisdom and newness; my bridled heart finds rest in knowing this.

Categories Australian Adventures, Theology + Stuff

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close